A Tale of Love and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Seemed like yesterday, we were all screaming and shouting “Happy new year!” Its been six weeks already and I hope this year has been a wonderful one so far. I’m happy to be back here. (I’m sorry, I keep going AWOL.) Okay. As you might have guessed, its love, love and love with this post. That’s what’s in the air this time of year anyway. So, I’m sharing my love story. Be warned, its not quite the usual love story. 

********
It was Thursday evening and there was praise service in church. I attended and it was an awesome time in the presence of God! Good music, all sorts of dance steps, a great time of worship! I digress… Pardon me. I hopped into the car after the service to start my journey home. It was smooth for the first couple of minutes, until I got stuck in traffic. The kind of traffic that has people forming 4 lanes on a 2 lane road. As if that wasn’t bad enough, the orchestra in my tummy came alive and started a rendition. Hunger and Ibadan traffic, Akobo traffic to be precise do not make a good combo. So, I reached inside my handbag to pick a pack of biscuits a colleague had given me earlier on. I didn’t find it! I had practically turned the bag inside out when I remembered I forgot it at work! Chai! Then all off a sudden, I had this huge craving for chocolate chip cookies!
download (1)
Those are my favorite. The craving was soooo bad that I put it up on my personal message on BBM and also tweeted about it.
Screenshot_2015-02-13-22-59-35
But then, as far as I was concerned, it was just a craving. Here I was stuck in traffic at almost 8pm on my way home. There was no store in sight that would probably have it. So, I just consoled myself with music and conversations for the rest of the trip home and told myself to forget the craving. I got home almost an hour later and was grateful to have dinner.
I settled in, got comfy and spent some time with my family. I had completely forgotten of any craving by this time. I was getting ready to go my room and get some things sorted out before going to bed when my eyes fell on a nylon on the table in my parents room. I moved to check out what was in it. I couldn’t contain myself when I found out it was my favorite brand of chocolate chip cookies. I screamed, danced and jumped up and down for joy. Everyone started wondering what was wrong with me. I then referred them to my BBM and told them about the craving that haunted me on the drive home.
You see it wasn’t so much as getting my chocolate chip cookies that elicited such joy and excitement from me. It was the realization that God loved me so much as to satisfy something as mundane as a craving for chocolate chip cookies. Not only that, He had seen to the provision of it long before the thought ever crossed my mind! That for me is the definition of love! A love that looks out for me in the big decisions of life and the little things also. A love so deep that a life was laid down so I can be saved! A love that did much more than catch a grenade for me. An eternal love.
I know its Valentines Day and the word ‘love’ will be the most used word of the day. Trust me you won’t know what love is till you experience God.
For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. John 3:16-17 (KJV)
Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. John 15:13 (KJV)
You too can have this love. Its so simple. All you need do is believe in Him.
images
6 comments on “A Tale of Love and Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. His love for humanity is so immeasurable, indescribable, unbeatable, unquantifiable, matchless, unfathomable…Thank You, My LORD.

Leave a Reply

