Food for Thought

So, 48 hours became over a week! Chai! *covers face* Please find it in your heart to forgive me. I actually wrote this a couple of months ago but somehow did not get round to putting it up. (No thanks to the sometimes crappy internet connection). Anyway, enjoy today’s post and have a lovely day!

**************************

20140821-104818-38898449.jpg

I’ve been questioning myself on how these days I’m easily shaken by stuff that would never have rattled me a while ago… It dawned on me that I hadn’t been doing enough to build my faith… Then a verse about faith came to my mind… So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. (Romans 10:17 KJV)

At this point, I remembered the importance of meditation on the word of God as a faith builder. So, I kept trying my best at spare moments to meditate. But every time I tried my mind strayed. Most often my thoughts kept on going back to this series I’ve been seeing. After a while it became annoying. An effort in futility! Then, GBAM! I realized that for a while (a while being about three weeks), I had devoted quite a lot of time to watching the series, almost more time than anything else. That’s why it occupied my mind even without much effort. Then it struck me how truly important it is to watch what you feed your mind with, because it pops up even when you least expect it or want it to! At that moment, I found out how important it is to consume the word of God… Read it, listen to it, speak it, think on it …Cos it WILL pop up at the right times and consciously and unconsciously help you grow! And when life throws all sorts of things at you, you will be fully and properly equipped to tackle them. So, the first thing I did was to stop watching the series, cos mehn was I hooked! I also got an audio bible (thanks for the idea Tope) and I do believe I’m on the right track to getting back up!

3 comments on “Food for Thought

  1. Yea Damilola, you are right on point! In as much as God’s Word is the ultimate faithbuilder as you ve rightly identified, there are little foxes that will always attempt to devour and consume the vines of revelation gotten from the word at tender stage. Hence we need to watch those things that simultanously get inside our soul aside s the Word.
    What is garbaged in is what will garbage out by reflex in times of pressure. While these things aren’t bad in themselves, we should always recall in the words of scriptures that while all things are lawful including series and seasons such as one tree hill etc, not all things are helpful in the process of building up our faith. And even if all are helpful, not all things are expedient for the moment. While other things are like bodily exercise which if profitable at all at its best profit little, the Word is apposite to Godliness which is profitable IN ALL. Thanks Damilola for this post, I’m stirred! U are the b*mb!, exploding with GRACE

Leave a Reply

